# OFFICIAL PUBLICATION DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY (DART) COMMISSION MEETING – November 2, 2021 – 620 CHERRY STREET, DES MOINES, IA 50309

[The above Commission Meeting was held in a hybrid format).

## **ROLL CALL**

# Commissioners/Alternates Present and Voting:

Vern Willey (participated via zoom), Kelly Whiting (left at 1.27 p.m.), Doug Elrod (participated via zoom), John Edwards (participated via zoom), Jill Altringer (participated via zoom), Ross Grooters (participated via zoom), Angela Connolly (participated via zoom, arrived at 12.06 p.m.), Bridget Montgomery, Russ Trimble and Joseph Jones

#### **Commissioners Absent:**

Josh Mandelbaum and Paula Dierenfeld

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair, Russ Trimble called the meeting to order at 12:04 p.m. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present. Notice of the meeting was duly published.

# **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

Chair, Russ Trimble requested a motion to approve the agenda as presented.

It was moved by Joseph Jones and seconded by Vern Willey to approve the November 2, 2021 agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

None

# **CONSENT ITEMS**

6A - Commission Meeting Minutes - October 5, 2021

6B - FY2026 Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) Request

6C - September 2021 Financials

It was moved by Michael McCoy and seconded by Ross Grooters to approve the consent items. The motion carried unanimously.

# **CLOSED EXEMPT SESSION**

It was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Michael McCoy that the Commission adjourn the regular session and reconvene in closed session.

Roll Call: Willey - Yea, Whiting – Yea, Elrod – Yea, McCoy (arrived at 12.06 p.m.) - Yea, Mandelbaum – Not Present, Altringer - Yea, Dierenfeld – Not Present, Grooters - Yea, Connolly - Yea, Montgomery – Yea, Trimble – Yea and Jones - Yea

Chair, Russ asked for a motion to recess the meeting and reconvene in closed session the meeting at 12.10 p.m.

Chair, Russ Trimble moved that the Commissioners of the Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority go into closed session pursuant to section 20.17 and 21.9 of the Iowa Code to discuss strategy in matters relating to employment conditions.

No action was taken during the closed session.

12.43 p.m. MEETING RECONVENED IN OPEN SESSION

Roll Call: Willey - Yea, Whiting – Yea, Elrod – Yea, McCoy - Yea, Mandelbaum – Not Present, Altringer - Yea, Dierenfeld – Not Present, Grooters - Yea, Connolly - Yea, Montgomery – Yea, Trimble – Yea and Jones - Yea

## **ACTION ITEMS**

8A – Paratransit Operator Pay

It was moved by Michael McCoy and seconded by Bridget Montgomery to approve action item pursuant to lowa Code Sections 20.17 and 21.9 related to Paratransit Operator Pay Scale. The motion carried unanimously. 8B – Amalgamated Transit Union Memorandum of Understanding

It was moved by Joseph Jones and seconded by Bridget Montgomery to approve action item pursuant to lowa Code Sections 20.17 and 21.9 related to the Amalgamated Transit Union Memorandum of Understanding. The motion carried unanimously.

## 8C - DART Terms of Use

It was moved by Kelly Whiting and seconded by Michael McCoy to approve the DART Terms of Use Policy as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

8D – American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Spending Plan

It was moved by Vern Willey and seconded by Bridget Montgomery to Approve the ARPA spending plan as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

#### **ADJOURN**

Chair, Russ Trimble, adjourned the meeting at 1:40 p.m.

# \*\*\*OFFICIAL NOTICE OF THE NEXT DART COMMISSION MEETING DATE IS HEREBY PUBLISHED:

The next regular DART monthly Commission Meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, December 7, 2021 at 12:00 p.m. in the DART Multimodal Room at 620 Cherry Street, Des Moines, Iowa. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 21.8, the DART Commission has determined that it is still impractical or impossible to require all Commission members, staff, and the public to be physically present for this Commission meeting. Accordingly, both inperson and virtual options for attendance of the December 7, 2021 Commission meeting will be offered as follows: (1) Commission members, staff, and the public will be allowed to attend this Commission meeting in person in the DART Multimodal Room at 620 Cherry Street, Des Moines, Iowa; and (2) Commission members, staff, and the public will be allowed to attend this Commission meeting via a virtual platform such as Zoom. Participation directions for such virtual meeting option are as follows:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88413575130?pwd=WVEwWDVGZ2hRV2p3Q3VxQkR5WDRLUT09

Meeting ID: 884 1357 5130/Passcode: 713818