## OFFICIAL PUBLICATION DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY (DART) COMMISSION MEETING – June 6, 2017 – 620 CHERRY STREET, DES MOINES, IA 50309

# ROLL CALL

| Commissioners Present: | Angela Connolly, Tom Gayman, Chris Hensley, Gaye Johnson,<br>Gary Lorenz, Skip Moore (arrived in room at 12:01 pm), Joann<br>Muldoon and Steve Peterson |
|------------------------|---|
| Commissioner Absent:   | Skip Conkling   |
| Alternate Present:     | Jon Woods   |

## CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Chair, Tom Gayman at 12:00 pm. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

Notice of the meeting was duly published.

#### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair, Tom Gayman requested a motion to approve the agenda as presented.

It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Ms. Hensley to approve the June 6, 2017 Agenda as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

#### PUBLIC COMMENT

No comments.

#### TRANSIT RIDERS ADVISORY COMMITTEE UPDATE

Teresa Volcheck, Vice Chair of the Transit Riders Advisory Committee, gave an update of the recent TRAC Meeting to the Commission. The TRAC members reviewed and approved 2017 TRAC Goals, and three people from DART who presented at this meeting.

#### PUBLIC HEARING ON PROPOSED GOVERNANCE TASK FORCE RECOMMENDATION

A discussion by the Board of Commissioners and public hearing was held regarding the proposed governance changes for DART. Following this, the Commission voted unanimously to approve the recommendations of an independent task force. Following the vote, each DART member community's governing body must approve the changes to their agreements with DART and appoint their representative and alternate. The new Commission will likely be seated in October 2017.

A motion by Ms. Hensley and second by Mr. Peterson to approve the Public Hearing on Proposed Governance Task Force Recommendation. The motion carried unanimously.

#### CONSENT ITEMS

8A –Commission Meeting Minutes – May 2, 2017 8B – FY2017 Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Low or No Emission Bus Grant Program 8C - ICAP FY18 Renewal There was a revision to item 8B, and a copy of the corrected item was given to each Commissioner. It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Mr. Woods to approve the consent items as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

# ACTION ITEMS

9A - DART Annual Health Insurance Renewal

It was moved by Mr. Moore and seconded by Ms. Johnson to approve the DART Annual Health Insurance Renewal. The motion carried unanimously.

9B – Farebox and Automated Fare Collection System Contract Award

It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Ms. Connolly to approve the Farebox and Automated Fare Collection System Contract Award. The motion carried unanimously.

9C – FY 2018 Des Moines Public Schools Contract

It was moved by Ms. Hensley and seconded by Ms. Connolly to approve the FY 2018 Des Moines Public Schools Contract. This motion carried unanimously.

9D – Bcycle Purchase Agreement

It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Ms. Hensley to approve BCycle Purchase Agreement. This motion carried unanimously.

9E – Records Retention Policy

It was moved by Ms. Muldoon and seconded by Mr. Peterson to approve the Records Retention Policy. The motion carried unanimously.

9F - April 2017 Financials

It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Ms. Connolly to approve the April 2017 Financials. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion by Mr. Peterson and second by Ms. Connolly to adjourn the regular Commission Meeting was made at 1:38 pm. The motion carried unanimously.

# OFFICIAL NOTICE OF THE NEXT DART COMMISSION MEETING DATE IS HEREBY PUBLISHED:

The next regular DART monthly Commission Meeting has been scheduled for July 11, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. in the DART Multimodal Room at 620 Cherry Street, Des Moines, Iowa.