OFFICIAL PUBLICATION DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY (DART) COMMISSION MEETING – July 13, 2021 – 620 CHERRY STREET, DES MOINES, IA 50309

[The above Commission Meeting was held via Zoom. The Commission determined that it is impossible and impractical for all members of the Commission, staff and members of the public to be physically present at this Commission meeting due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and that it is necessary to conduct this Commission meeting by electronic means.]

ROLL CALL

Commissioners/Alternates Present and Voting:

Vern Willey, Kelly Whiting, Doug Elrod (arrived at 11:15 am), John Edwards, Josh Mandelbaum (arrived at 11:03 am), Jake Anderson (arrived at 11:05 am), Paula Dierenfeld, Ross Grooters, Angela Connolly, Bridget Montgomery, Russ Trimble, Joseph Jones

Commissioners Absent:

Michael McCoy and Jill Altringer

CALL TO ORDER

Chair, Russ Trimble called the meeting to order at 11:01 am. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present. Notice of the meeting was duly published.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair, Russ Trimble requested a motion to approve the agenda as presented.

It was moved by John Edwards and seconded by Angela Connolly to approve the July 23, 2021 agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

CLOSED EXEMPT SESSION

It was moved by John Edwards and seconded by Vern Willey that the Commission adjourn the regular session and reconvene in closed session.

Roll Call: Willey - Yea, Whiting – Yea, Elrod – Not Present, Edwards – Yea, Mandelbaum – Not Present, Anderson – Not Present, Dierenfeld - Yea, Grooters - Yea, Connolly - Yea, Montgomery – Yea, Trimble – Yea and Jones - Yea

Chair, Russ asked for a motion to recess the meeting and reconvene in closed session the meeting at 11:03 am.

Chair, Russ Trimble moved that the Commissioners of the Des Moines Area Regional Transit Authority go into closed session pursuant to section 20.17 and 21.9 of the Iowa Code to discuss strategy in matters relating to employment conditions.

No action was taken during the closed session.

11:24 am MEETING RECONVENED IN OPEN SESSION

Roll Call: Willey - Yea, Whiting – Yea, Elrod – Yea, Edwards - Yea, Mandelbaum - Yea, – Anderson – Yea, Dierenfeld - Yea, Grooters - Yea, Connolly - Yea, Montgomery – Yea, Trimble – Yea and Jones - Yea

6. OPTIONAL ACTION: ITEM PURSUANT TO IOWA CODE SECTIONS 20.17 AND 21.9

It was moved by John Edwards and seconded by Doug Elrod to approve the temporary increase in paratransit pay for current operators with the option of a flexible end date. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURN

Chair, Russ Trimble, adjourned the meeting at 11:29 a.m.