# OFFICIAL PUBLICATION DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY (DART) COMMISSION MEETING – January 10, 2017 – 620 CHERRY STREET, DES MOINES, IA 50309

## **ROLL CALL**

Commissioners Present: Skip Conkling (arrived at 1:01 pm), Angela Connolly, Tom Gayman,

Chris Hensley, Gary Lorenz, Gaye Johnson, Skip Moore and Joann

Muldoon

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair, Tom Gayman at 11:58 am. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

Notice of the meeting was duly published.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Vice Chair, Tom Gayman requested a motion to approve the agenda as presented.

It was moved by Ms. Hensley and seconded by Mr. Peterson to approve the January 10, 2017 Agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

#### PUBLIC COMMENT

There were four speakers from local businesses that spoke about their current transit needs.

#### **COMMISSIONER ITEMS**

Ankeny Mayor Gary Lorenz is now the DART Commissioner serving District 7 following the resignation of Polk County Supervisor Steve Van Oort. The change in representation also prompted the need to fill the position of Commission Chair, left vacant by Van Oort's resignation. Commissioner Peterson motioned and Commissioner Hensley seconded the nomination of Commissioner Gayman for Chair of the DART Commission. The motion was approved by Ms. Connolly, Ms. Hensley, Ms. Johnson, Ms. Muldoon, Mr. Peterson and Mr. Lorenz, and opposed by Mr. Moore. Commissioner Conkling was absent during this vote. Commissioner Tom Gayman was elected Chair of the DART Commission. He had served as Vice Chair prior to Tuesday's election.

Commissioner Muldoon motioned to elect Commissioner Moore as Vice Chair. This motion died for a lack of a vote. Commissioner Peterson motioned and Commissioner Connolly seconded the motion to elect Commissioner Hensley as the Vice Chair of the DART Commission. The motion was approved by Ms. Connolly, Mr. Gayman, Ms. Johnson, Mr. Peterson and Mr. Lorenz, and opposed by Mr. Moore and Ms. Muldoon. Commissioner Conkling was absent during this vote. Commissioner and Des Moines Councilmember Christine Hensley was elected Vice Chair. Both will serve through June 2017.

#### **CONSENT ITEMS**

7A - Commission Meeting Minutes - December 6, 2016

7B - RideShare Van Purchase

It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Mr. Moore to approve the consent items as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

# **ACTION ITEMS**

## 8A - FTA State of Good Repair Targets

It was moved by Ms. Hensley and seconded by Mr. Peterson to approve the FTA State of Good Repair Targets. The motion carried unanimously.

# 8B - DART Drug and Alcohol Policy

It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Ms. Johnson to approve the DART Drug and Alcohol Policy. The motion carried unanimously.

## 8C - Van Donation Program

It was moved by Ms. Connolly and seconded by Mr. Moore that the Commission approve the Van Donation Program. The motion carried unanimously.

# 8D - DART Funding Study Request to Greater Des Moines Partnership

There a correction to this action item and each Commissioner received the updated document. There was an "and" versus "an" on the document explaining this item in the Commission packet. It was moved by Ms. Hensley and seconded by Ms. Johnson that the Commission approve the DART Funding Study to Greater Des Moines Partnership with this correction. The motion was approved by Ms. Connolly, Mr. Moore, Ms. Hensley, Ms. Johnson, Ms. Muldoon, Mr. Peterson, Mr. Lorenz, Mr. Gayman and Mr. Conkling abstained from voting.

#### 8E - DART Governance Task Force and Facilitation Services

It was moved by Mr. Lorenz and seconded by Mr. Conkling to let the DART Governance Task Force form and take the restrictions out. The motion was approved by Mr. Conkling and Mr. Lorenz. It was opposed by Ms. Connolly, Ms. Hensley, Mr. Moore, Ms. Johnson, Ms. Muldoon, Mr. Peterson and Mr. Gayman. It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Ms. Muldoon that the Commission approve the DART Governance Task Force and Facilitation Services as written in the agenda item. The motion was approved by Ms. Connolly, Ms. Hensley, Ms. Johnson, Ms. Muldoon, Mr. Peterson, Mr. Gayman and opposed by Mr. Conkling, Mr. Moore and Mr. Lorenz.

## 8F - November 2016 Financials

It was moved by Mr. Peterson and seconded by Mr. Conkling that the Commission approve the November 2016 Financials. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion by Mr. Peterson and second by Mr. Moore to adjourn the regular Commission Meeting was made at 1:53 pm. The motion carried unanimously.

# OFFICIAL NOTICE OF THE NEXT DART COMMISSION MEETING DATE IS HEREBY PUBLISHED:

The next regular DART monthly Commission Meeting has been scheduled for February 7, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. in the DART Multimodal Room at 620 Cherry Street, Des Moines, Iowa.