

# DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES MEETING HOSTED IN-PERSON AND VIRTUALLY 1100 DART WAY – DES MOINES, IOWA 50309 AUGUST 1, 2023

(Meeting was held in a hybrid format)

### ROLL CALL

### **Commissioners/Alternates Present and Voting:**

Tara Cox (left at 1.34pm), Michael McCoy (left at 1.15pm), Josh Mandelbaum (left at 1.48pm), Andrew Borcherding, Jake Anderson, Paula Dierenfeld, Ross Grooters, Steve Van Oort, Bridget Montgomery, Russ Trimble, and Joseph Jones

### Commissioners Absent:

Vern Willey, Kelly Stearns, and Srikant Mikkilineni

### CALL TO ORDER

Chair Russ Trimble called the meeting to order at 12:02 p.m. Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present.

Notice of the meeting was duly published.

### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Chair Russ Trimble requested a motion to approve the agenda as presented.

It was moved by Ross Grooters and seconded by Joseph Jones to approve the August 1, 2023, agenda. The motion carried unanimously.

### PUBLIC COMMENT:

Heather Armstrong from Des Moines thanked the DART Operators for their understanding and great customer service during the recent heatwave.

Garland Armstrong from Des Moines enquired about the Paratransit service during the Iowa State Fair. DART staff addressed and answered the questions for Mr. Armstrong.

### TRANSIT RIDERS ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TRAC) UPDATE

Unfortunately, nobody from TRAC was able to attend the Commission meeting so Chair, Russ Trimble asked the Commission to refer to the printed TRAC update provided in their packets.

### CONSENT ITEMS

7A - Commission Meeting Minutes - July 11, 2023

7B – Advertising Policy Approval

# DES MOINES AREA REGIONAL TRANSIT AUTHORITY COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES – AUGUST 1, 2023



7C – Quarterly Investment Review

It was moved by Josh Mandelbaum and seconded by Joseph Jones to approve the consent items. The motion carried unanimously.

### **DISCUSSION ITEMS:**

8A – Operations and Maintenance Facility Next Steps

Sheri Kyras, Interim Chief Executive Officer and Luis Montoya, Chief Planning Officer provided background and options for DART Commission to consider on how to proceed with DART's proposed new Operations and Maintenance Facility.

8B – Iowa State Fair Update

Brandon Smiley, Chief Operating Officer provide an update on DART's Park and Ride service for the 2023 Iowa State Fair.

# DEPARTMENTAL MONTHLY REPORTS (BY EXCEPTION)

11A - Operations

Brandon Smiley, Chief Operating Officer, provided a brief update on the RAGBRAI service DART provided during the event.

11B – Planning

None

11C - External Affairs

None

11D – Finance/IT/Procurement

None

11E – Human Resources

None

11F – Interim Chief Executive Officer

None

# FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

None



# **COMMISSIONER ITEMS**

None

# 13. CLOSED SESSION

It was moved by Bridget Montgomery and seconded by Josh Mandelbaum that the Commission adjourn the regular session and reconvene in closed session to discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are presently pending litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage DART's position.

Roll Call: Willey - Nay, Whiting - Nay, Cox - Yea, Mikkilineni - Nay, Mandelbaum - Yea, Borcherding - Yea, Dierenfeld - Yea, Grooters - Yea, Van Oort - Yea, Montgomery - Yea, Trimble - Yea, Jones - Yea.

Chair, Russ Trimble recessed the regular meeting at 1:31pm

No action was taken during the closed session.

At 1:49 pm, a voice vote was taken for the closed session to be adjourned and the regular session be reconvened.

Willey - Nay, Whiting – Nay, Cox – Nay, Mikkilineni – Nay, Mandelbaum – Nay, Borcherding - Yea, Dierenfeld - Yea, Grooters - Yea, Van Oort – Yea, Montgomery – Yea, Trimble – Yea, Jones – Yea.

It was moved by Joseph Jones and seconded by Ross Grooters that the DART Commission agrees with Proterra's Proposal #2 contained in Proterra's letters dated June 5<sup>th</sup>, 2023, and July 17<sup>th</sup>, 2023 and directs staff to develop and execute an agreement with the agreed upon terms. The motion carried unanimously.

# NEXT MEETING:

Regular DART Meeting - Tuesday, September 5, 2023 – 12:00 P.M.

# ADJOURN

Chair, Riss Trimble adjourned the meeting at 1:51 p.m.

Chair

Clerk

Date